Get to know your chakras | Samyak Yoga

This block aims to serve as an introductory outline of the 7 Chakras present in our subtle body (unseen and untouched body). Upcoming blogs in the near future will delve into other significant aspects of the chakras, which is a vast topic in itself. This blog is a forerunner of what will follow.

Some frequently asked questions are answered before reading more.

What is a Chakra?

“Chakra” is a Sanskrit word for “Wheel.” Chakras are spherical, invisible, rotating energy centers present in the subtle body along the spine. They are at the bottom of the column and end in the crown of the head in a straight line.

The human body is made up of 7 Chakras that work collectively to create vital energy or “Prana”.

The 7 Chakras are as follows:

Muladhara Chakra (the root chakra)

Swadhishtana Chakra (the sacred chakra)

Muladhara Chakra (the chakra of the solar plexus)

Anahata Chakra (the chakra of the heart)

Vishuddhi Chakra (the throat chakra)

Any Chakra (The Third Eye Chakra) i

Sahasrara Chakra (The Crown Chakra)

The first 5 Chakras are connected to the elements of Earth, Water, Fire, Air and Space. The last 2 chakras are associated with inner wisdom and cosmic energy. Each chakra is represented by a color of the rainbow.

What is the meaning of each chakra?

Each Chakra corresponds to a very specific area of ​​the body. In a perfectly healthy person, the body, mind and spirit benefit from balanced chakras. When there is an imbalance in any of these chakras we feel the exact opposite depending on the chakras that are unbalanced in our body.

The 7 main chakras in a nutshell

Muladhara (root) Chakra

It is the first chakra located in the lower part of the coccyx: in the perineum for men and in the cervix for women. Your energy (Prana) moves forward from here. This chakra connects all your physical energy and underpins you. The root chakra is responsible for your survival instincts, such as eating, sleeping, and a sense of security. A balanced root chakra means knowing how to meet your basic needs. You feel strong, safe and secure.

Swadishtana (Sacred) Chakra

This is the 2ndnd chakra located in the pelvic area (a few inches below the navel). The sacred chakra is connected to the life of birth, pleasure and sensuality. Much of our self-esteem is affected by this scourge. A well-balanced sacred chakra also means releasing negative self-talk and tuning in to what you are most passionate about. Celebrate creativity to the fullest.

Manipura Chakra (solar plexus).

The 3rd chakra is in the stomach and is in the navel. Intestinal successes and feelings are most associated with this chakra. It is indicative of your power and self-esteem. When you talk about gut feelings and think about success, you’re talking about energy from the solar plexus. When we question our self-esteem, it usually focuses on that point. Stabilizes emotions. It increases confidence and is the power of the body leading to positive transformations.

Anahata (Heart Chakra)

Your fourth chakra is in the chest, in and around the heart space. It is the home of human emotions. We’ve all experienced sadness and grief before, whether it’s trust issues or the inability to forgive, this is a call to tune in to your heart center. The heart chakra denotes your ability to give and receive love, heal wounds from the past, and foster healthy and happy relationships.

Vishuddhi (Throat chakra)You will find your 5th chakra right in the middle of your throat. Your throat chakra is your truth and voice. It is the root of communication and self-expression. When you struggle with your throat chakra, your voice may be muffled and you may have trouble asserting yourself. Working the throat chakra helps to activate confidence, self-expression and attract abundance. It helps you to be a better listener and to communicate your emotions in a pleasant way.

Ajna (Third Eye) – The sixth chakra is located between the eyebrows and extends to the pineal gland of the brain. Controls the other functions of the chakras. It is mainly associated with your intuition or sixth sense. A prominent meeting point between the Nadis ‘Ida’ and ‘Pingala’ (energy channels); this chakra opens your mind and improves your prospects. The third eye helps you to receive and trust your inner wisdom as you make life-changing decisions.

Sahasrara (Crown Chakra)

Finally, the 7th chakra is at the top of your head, resting on your crown. The crown chakra is your gateway to higher power or unconditional love which is the highest of all frequencies. This chakra is connected to everything beyond the ego and is a source of enlightenment. That said, work on the crown chakra begins through the lower chakras. When the lower chakras are open, the channels to the upper chakras and the spirit are perfect.

Now you have an overview of the 7 chakras, including the role they all play and their different properties. Regular asana practices along with meditation and pranayama can help balance and keep the chakras open; while improving overall health and well-being.

This encourages energy to flow freely through your body and allows you to intuitively choose your yoga practice according to your needs to find balance and harmony. As suggested in the previous blog on ’18 Best Yoga Books’, I invite you to read a fascinating book on chakras entitled ‘Wheels of Life’ by Judith Anodea.

#chakras #Samyak #Yoga

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission.

Source link

You May Also Like